Samara Joy ‘Linger Awhile (Deluxe Edition)’ Out Now

 Samara Joy has released Linger Awhile (Deluxe Edition), an expanded version of her GRAMMY-winning album Linger Awhile, featuring imaginatively distinct alternate versions and never-before-heard b-sides. The album includes brand new music plus fan-favorites like Guess Who I Saw Today” and “Can’t Get Out Of This Mood,” which Samara performed at this year’s GRAMMYs before taking home awards for Best New Artist and Best Jazz Vocal Album. You can see her performance from the Jennifer Hudson Show below.

Listen to Linger Awhile (Deluxe Edition) HERE

The Deluxe Edition of Linger Awhile features five new tracks, including Samara’s rendition of “I Miss You So,” a nod to Nat “King” Cole’s version of the song. As part of the expanded edition, the album also features “Duo Versions” of three tracks, with Samara on vocals and 6-time Grammy nominated piano master Gerald Clayton on piano. Also included is a soulful trio version of “Guess Who I Saw Today,” featuring and arranged by acclaimed keyboardist Shedrick Mitchell, and “Sometimes Today Seems Like Yesterday,” written by and in tribute to Barry Harris, a mentor of Samara’s who passed away shortly before the recording of Linger Awhile.

Since Samara’s breakout GRAMMY wins, Linger Awhile has reached #1 on Amazon Best Sellers, Billboard Jazz, Pandora Trendsetters, iTunes and Amazon’s digital-music and CD-sales, and more. Samara has garnered over nearly 1 million followers on Instagram and TikTok, and her tour dates all over the world are selling out, including a week-long engagement at the famous Village Vanguard in NYC. 

Recorded at Sear Sound in New York City by Chris Allen and produced by Matt Pierson, Linger Awhile features exemplary musicianship by Pasquale Grasso (guitar), Ben Paterson (piano), David Wong (double bass), and Kenny Washington (drums). The tracklist is comprised of treasured songs by George Gershwin (“Someone To Watch Over Me”) and Thelonious Monk (“Round Midnight”), and also includes Samara’s original lyrics on Fats Navarro’s “Nostalgia (The Day I Knew).” While paying homage to those who came before her, Samara is introducing a new audience to standards several times older than she is with her “one-of-a-kind voice” and “ageless talent” (CBS Mornings).

For all upcoming tour dates, please visit


Linger Awhile (Deluxe Edition) Tracklist 

  1. Can’t Get Out Of This Mood
  2. Guess Who I Saw Today
  3. Nostalgia
  4. Sweet Pumpkin
  5. Misty
  6. Social Call
  7. I’m Confessin’
  8. Linger Awhile
  9. ‘Round Midnight
  10. Someone to Watch Over Me
  11. I Miss You So
  12. Sometimes Today Seems Like Yesterday
  13. I’m Gonna Lock My Heart (And Throw Away The Key)
  14. I’m Afraid (Of Loving You Too Much)
  15. Guess Who I Saw Today (New Trio Version)
  16. Can’t Get Out Of This Mood (Duo Version)
  17. Sweet Pumpkin (Duo Version)
  18. Guess Who I Saw Today (Duo Version)

The post Samara Joy ‘Linger Awhile (Deluxe Edition)’ Out Now appeared first on Smooth Jazz and Smooth Soul.

Powered by WPeMatico